Muchas grazie!

Just a silly phrase I made up.

I am a bit busy lately; and therefore, I haven’t finished my current read.  For this reason, I felt it time to finally address the awards I received and recommend some blogs you might enjoy.  In my next post, I will discuss “An Invitation to Sociology” by Peter L. Berger, which I found in the Monastiraki flea market of Athens, Greece for one measly Euro.  The book can be thought to be suitable for students (or future students) pursuing degrees in sociology or it’s “cousin”, psychology.  Yet, aren’t we all  interested in sociology?  Breaking down the word “sociology” into it’s Latin makeup basically explains that sociology is the study of societies.  Are not you, the blog reader — whether you be a photographer, engineer, traveler, mother, writer, teacher, student, customer service rep, doctor — observing and questioning how other people live and do?  Well, you must be…the sea of blogs you read are not all about you.

Before I get to the award discussion, some art to share with you.  Here is some art that recently caught my eye beneath a fortress located in Ferrara, Italy.

“Mirliton mandala” by Muffin Bernstein

“Okra mandala” by Muffin Bernstein

Lastly, this one is appropriately named “Time for Reflection” by Vike Pedersen.

The art was eye-catching amidst the backdrop of dreary underground lying in the fortress dotted with ancient cannonballs still arranged in some corners:

The mischievous part of me wanted to topple the lone cannonball away from the others. But I refrained.

Thank you for the Liebster and Versatile blogger awards that I received from several readers.  Still in my infancy as a blog writer, I am quite honored to receive such a designation.  I do not write with the intention to win awards.  One of the reasons why I started this blog was to practice writing in a “foreign” language.  At my hours of work, I talk, read, and write in language that is more objective, but as I mentioned earlier, a way to describe me is “estar en las nubes“.  So this blog is an outlet for the fraction of thoughts and daydreams that consume my head.  Of course, I know you are a smart reader, and you realize to know more about the reasons behind my blogname, the “about me” page can be clicked. And this blog is still maturing.  I started this blog as a way to introduce great writing in the endless amount of books I read, but the books I choose always coincide with my randomness in thoughts, memories, experiences, etc.  But maybe subconsciously it is such things that cause us to choose the books we choose.

Books and tea — things I love.

I was also “tagged” by nepaliaustralian so I am suppposed to answer her questions:

  1. What makes you laugh? Friends and F.R.I.E.N.D.S.
  2. What is the best part of blogging?  To help others see a  little bit more tomorrow than you saw today.
  3. What makes your day?  Going to bed at night realizing tomorrow is a new day to end any negativity or to continue any positivity.
  4. What is your worst fear?  Spiders.
  5. One famous person you want to meet:  Caravaggio, who’s tumultuous life and scandulous behavior made him the bad boy of painting.  Alive?  GOTAN Project because a few days ago a cafe played their music and I was reminded of how much I love their music.
  6. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? I want to travel the Middle East for many reasons other than my infatuation with Middle Eastern food.  It would be especially nice to attend the Tehran International Book fair that occurs this month.  Here is a link to an article by “The Guardian” that wrote about the book fair. The article explains the paradox of its popularity with the Islamic censorship that can ban a book for conditions such as fictional, unmarried characters in the book holding hands.
  7. What do you think is the single best decision you’ve made in your life so far?  Being in love.
  8. What song always makes you happy when you hear it?  Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, namely “Spring“.  It reminds me of a time playing violin in one of the orchestras I was in. It is always spectacular to be amongst the makers of the music, but playing and being immersed in this piece brought me especially more joy than usual.
  9. What are the things you always take with you?  At least two hair clips, because I am prone to breaking them.
  10. What do you know about Nepal?  nepaliaustralian teaches her readers so much!  Although she presents a a nice range of interesting topics, my favorite lessons are those about Nepal’s festivals.
  11. What are you thinking right now?  I’m craving for honey drizzled on top of ricotta cheese.

I skimmed over the award and “being tagged” rules and I am not much for following rules.  Although honored, I will not be tagging others with questions because I believe my best way to learn about fellow blog writers is through following their blogs.  Instead, below are just some blog recommendations.  The quality of my blog is solely exemplified by the words I admire of good writers — this holds true for the following blogs that deserve your attention:

The largest fraction of blogs I read have to do with cooking because vegetarians don’t eat salads all day.  Here is a short list.

The discovery of a new dish does more for happiness than the discovery of a star.

Antelme Brillat-Savarin in “The Physiology of Taste”.

True to Libra form, I am attracted to aesthetics so here are some art and design blogs I like.  In my opinion, the up and coming areas for visual storytelling is concentrated in Brazil and Taiwan in which a generation of designers, illustrators, graphic editors, typographers, etc. are talented in providing compelling, culturally relevant materials.

Others….

I should be back to writing here in a few weeks.

