There is a light that never goes out

I am in somewhat of a hiatus right now. Stress has overcome me so much, that I have not been in the mood to read; and therefore, I have not finished my “current read” in the usual week’s time. The situation is absolutely my fault, so I am paying the huge price. However, I wanted to share with you a poem, a song, and movie that well, reminded me of my unfortunate events thus far. First a poem by Robert Frost I stumbled upon while waiting in my doctor’s office. It is called “Reluctance”:

Out through the fields and the woods

And over the walls I have wended;

I have climbed the hills of view

And looked at the world and descended;

I have come by the highway home,

And lo, it is ended.

The leaves are all dead on the ground,

Save those that the oak is keeping

To ravel them one by one

And let them go scraping and creeping

Out over the crusted snow,

When others are sleeping.

And the dead leaves lie huddled and still,

No longer blown hither and thither,

The last lone aster is gone;

The flowers of the witch-hazel wither;

The heart is still aching to seek,

But the feet question ‘Whither?’

Ah, when to the heart of man

Was it ever less than a treason

To go with the drift of things,

To yield with a grace to reason,

And bow and accept the end

Of a love or a season?

…..

Then I found a nice remake of a Smiths song…you may recognize it from the movie “500 days of summer”. I discovered it on a relaxing music site called: Stereomood

…..

And to sum it all I finally found this movie I have been looking for the past few months since the Chicago Cervantes Institute was playing it for their Spanish film festival back in November. It is a cute movie if you enjoy simple, romantic comedies. The movie’s premise is a bit ironic in that my coincidental findings in prose, theater, and music remind me the current events in my life. Or has my preoccupation with my bad fortune heightened my senses to notice these “coincidences”?

…..still many more days left in 2012, I hope things get better!

